Welcome To The K-Pop World, Nel!

Yes, I eventually joined the K-pop world as a K-poper ๐Ÿ˜€

It didn’t just happen recently, actually, so this post has been planned a while ago, but oh well, many things happened, what could I do? ๐Ÿ˜›

During my last years’ flights from and to Indonesia, I was keen on watching Asian films. My choice would be Indonesian, Japanese and South Korean. On my last flight I watched a film starringย Kang Ha Neulย and started to be fond of him for a while. Until one evening, I thought: Hey, why don’t I start listening to some K-pop music? Super Junior was the first name that crossed my mind. I guess in 2010 I already watched their music video ‘Sorry Sorry’ but I didn’t become a fan. I just remember browsing a bit about them and when I found out they consisted of 13 personnel, I thought, argh. They are all South Koreans (later I found out one of them wasn’t), how could I differentiate one from another, let alone remember their names? Case closed. I wasn’t interested.

But on that 18 September 2016 evening, I was already on my bed in my room in Trondheim, Norway, I left my laptop on playing the music videos from Super Junior on Youtube. And I thought, heey…they are pretty good (yeah, where have I been, you ask? I’d been in Norway, what about you? ๐Ÿ˜€ but I finally caught up ๐Ÿ˜› )

So, in the first week of my ‘encounter’ with Super Junior (or SuJu), I learned more about them by watching a lot of Youtube videos, and managed to remember their names. Yeay. Achievement!

I managed to spend 12 weeks in a row watching SuJu videos on Youtube, or at least listening to their music on my way to and from work, when I didn’t have time to watch videos.

1477913277296

Even when at school I also watched some SuJu music videos. Maaan, that was way more entertaining than the school itself. ๐Ÿ˜›

To be honest, Super Junior was like my light at the end of tunnel of boredom. I got so entertained. My life was enlightened. Call me exaggerating, but I was happy. That’s all what matters.

But I was a little late…I found out some of SuJu members were in military service and soon some others were enlisted in 2017. So it would take some time until they come back. But I’ll wait. ๐Ÿ˜‰

And which is my next favourite K-pop artists, you ask?

It’s EXO, man! Yes, they are all waaaay much younger than me. But, does it matter? hahaha… It all began when I started watching Korean reality show starring one of SuJu members Kyuhyun, called Exciting India. In this reality show there were other K-pop band members. One of them was Suho EXO. So I started to find out more about EXO. Later in the beginning of this year, I heard they would have concert in some of South East Asian countries, but unfortunately not in Indonesia. Singapore and Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia were on top choices. After some consideration, as well good communication with my fellow K-poper Rini, we made decision it would be Kuala Lumpur.

Exordium KL

Here I am in front of EXO big poster prior to their outdoor concert in KL, Malaysia. After about half year I joined the K-pop world. Yeay!

Posted in Uncategorized

4 thoughts on “Welcome To The K-Pop World, Nel!

  1. Earlier today, i was thinking about you!!! Not in romantic way, of course. Hahahahaha….was about to whatsapp you but pretty occupies! How’s lifeeeee?

Leave a Reply

