Harstad – A Beginning

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” – Lao Tzu
I am sure most of you have heard this before. And know what it means.
I thought it will be just cool to begin this blogpost with such a nice quotation. πŸ™‚

I was ready to embark my next journey. To Harstad.

Harstad-view2The view from my bus journey from the airport

After I got contact with the student welfare organisation in Harstad and I got student flat, I could choose the date when I would come. I came a few days after Ied, since I thought I would like to celebrate it with some friends in Trondheim. Unfortunately, they moved the celebration to other time which I couldn’t possibly come. However, I still got the chance to come in the morning and helped my friend a bit with the food, and as bonus, yes, I could get the taste of Indonesia on that holy day. Blessed.

Moving to a new place can be exciting, but often gives us a lot of works, especially with organising things. What to bring, what to give away, what to throw. After 2 years living somewhere, I bet you will have more stuff compared the first time you arrived, won’t you?

I took Norwegian and bought 2 luggages which allowed to me take up to 20 kg in each, so it was supposed to give me chance to have up to 40kg stuff with me. Unfortunately I didn’t have big luggage, so I had to be satisfied to fill up only 27 kg for both. Argh, I know. Meanwhile I had to leave 3 boxes, another luggage and one plastic bag filled with my rubber boots behind, just thought to ask somebody to send them by post later.

Alright. One fine Sunday, I arrived at Evenes airport, 50 minutes away by bus from Harstad town centre. I was warned by the student welfare organisation that there was Arctic Race Norway that day, so supposedly I had to wait for a while at the airport. No problem.
Harstad-waiting
The airport bus stopped in front of Thon hotel, where I could pick up my flat key. Got it. Ordered taxi, and off I went to my new flat. Yeah? So far I spent 180kr for bus, and 195kr for taxi. Have you counted it? Right. Around 60USD. Or 40pounds.

Since it was Sunday, I already prepared my survival box. What’s that? A box contained food. And I was very right. I was very hungry. Two instant noodles at one shot. So, remember to make your own survival box, just in case. πŸ˜‰

It was good to have a few days arranging things in my flat, before starting the school, including to measure how far the school was. And since it was still summer, the bus to my place, I found, was very limited. And I noticed that I live up on the hill. Which means, whenever I walked home, I would walk up up and away to the hill. Good workout? Hmm…

So, August 14 finally came. I came to school, I knew nobody, I had no idea which classroom I was supposed to go to. But I found it. And when the class coordinator started to call our names, yes, my name was on the top, because of my surname. And then, later, what a surprise, I knew somebody in the class! It was a Brazilian guy I knew last year at the film festival in Trondheim. We had met a few times, and since he got female surname, I rememberd him. :))

The first day was fun day. Orientation led by the senior students by taking us to all areas of school and got to know better, basically.

HIH-1

Afterwards there were some speeches from school and as well from Statoil North region director.

And, here we go, the most exciting one, free food! πŸ™‚

HIH-3

HIH-4

We could sit at the pier, enjoying the sea and mountain view, while eating our food.

Later in the afternoon, the foreign minister Espen Barth Eide came to give a speech in auditorium.

HIH-5

From the speeches of Statoil North region director and foreign minister, basically they emphasized the important role of this Northern region and it was encouragement for people to participate in its development. For me this is something new, but I find it already exciting.

I didn’t say everything went as I expected. It’s been nearly 5 weeks with my study now. There were ups and downs. A lot to read, a lot to understand, a lot to catch up. However, I am glad that I live life that I have chosen. I’ve just got to work on it. And I know it’s not a short and simple journey. But it will enrich my life experience, for sure. πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Harstad – A Beginning

  1. Evenes airport! LOL

    It’s just that I am working on several airport projects throughout Norway and we only know them by name but not really which city they belong or where it is located on the map. Well I guess we could google, but we never bother, but I recognise the name EVENES when you wrote this πŸ™‚

    Good luck with your study!

Leave a Reply

