Week #30 – More Reading and (Cooking) Learning

Yeah, how?

I was thinking to fill the coming new year with more reading. In fact, I started already this week, and hopefully it will last for the whole week. I will read every night before I go to sleep. It helps really to get sleep very fast. Not that I am a person who has difficulty to sleep. I just noticed that I got sleepy pretty fast. I mean, compare if I sit in front of the computer, I think I tend to stay up longer. Hm, probably internet gives more choices what we can read and see? However, I believe, reading before sleep help us get sleep more easily. Anyway, this week I finally finished 11 i 11, a Norwegian prose compilation written by young people, including Espen Klouman HΓΈiner. I read one review on this book, somebody mentioned that the most interesting was the one written by Espen. I would agree with that review. Although I had to read it twice. Unfortunately I couldn’t understand it only on one go, pardon my language skill. Not that the second time I understood it perfectly either. But at least I started to get the story. πŸ˜›

Now I continued my Mozambique book, and there are still 2 books in Norwegian, one is a novel, another one is more like travelouge, somebody’s journey. Let’s see how long I can finish all of them. Fingers crossed, ladies and gentlemen!

Other thing. I read an article on newspapers yesterday, it was about cooking books. Cooking books were not dead, that was the title. The first mentioned is Rachel Khoo’s The Little Paris Kitchen book. Out of curiousity, I was browsing about her, and ended up watching her programs on youtube. And I liked her right away.

This is the introduction Rachel Khoo – The Little Paris Kitchen

Ow, chocolate, this is so good! Rachel Khoo – Chocolate Lava Cake

It got me thinking to check out more cooking videos, first of hers, and then of Jamie Oliver’s. I know many of us might have been stuffed with a lot of food during Christmas time, correct or correct? πŸ™‚ But it didn’t put me off to see more of these cooking videos. It’s learning!

It also got me thinking, nowadays you don’t really need to go to cooking or culinary school actually. You can learn it from youtube! Ha!

Try this Jamie Oliver’s Home Cooking Skills

There is a will, there is a way. If you are a beginner, try those videos. Certainly it helps. At least start something. Well, probably you need school for network. That you can find places where you can practise what you have learnt, apart from your kitchen. πŸ˜‰ At one point of my life I was thinking to go to culinary school. It didn’t happen. It even crossed my mind to throw myself as an apprentice in a restaurant back in Jakarta, but got no clue whatsoever how to start. It would help if I knew somebody in that field. Well, I think I was still juggling between earning real money and pursuing what I was keen on doing.

Something else came up. And now I am here. Fortunately I got the chance to improve my cooking skill just by doing it. Learning by doing. I got my turn to work in the kitchen more than once a week. I am even in charge of deciding what will be on the menu. Most of the time. How exciting is that? I am on the spot chef hahaha…not sure if it’s the correct term. Anyway, I reckon you know what I mean. πŸ˜‰

For that I have to be grateful. I know I am always on the learning process. Just do it, believe in yourself, do things that matter to you! Yeah!

I’d better go grab my book now. God natt!

4 thoughts on “Week #30 – More Reading and (Cooking) Learning

Leave a Reply

