My April Film List – Still 100-Films-A-Year-Challenge

While I am still awake in this ‘glorious’ early morning (when you see snow still outside in May, oh yeah), I decided to write my April film list. Accompanied by Kent (it’s Swedish band!)- Vapen & Ammunition Album (2002). By the way, I found this blog. Interesting! Like him, I am a regular moviewatcher and my understanding of filmography is also limited. Well, it crossed my mind to study filmmaking once, but then I got to know a girl in town who is studying film studies, then hearing her story that they have to analyse films, heaven knows which one, I thought, hell thanks, I’d better watch films that I want to watch, just for fun’s sake πŸ™‚

So, this is my April film list, folks!

1. Eat, Pray, Love (US, 2010). Take a little synopsis from imdb – A married woman realizes how unhappy her marriage really is, and that her life needs to go in a different direction. After a painful divorce, she takes off on a round-the-world journey to “find herself”. From what I saw in the film, I think it is mainly her problem that she wants to “find herself” and starts the round-the-world journey. Some people might love the film, but I don’t.

2. En Ganske Snill Mann (Norway, 2010). Recommended by one of my fellow volunteers at Kosmorama. Unfortunately not really my cup of tea.

3. Max Manus (Norway, 2008). For me to do my-100-films-in-a-year-challenge it’s okay to re-watch some films, as part of my refreshing memory. Including this film. I watched it once at the cinema back in Jakarta in 2008. And now in DVD with some extra materials, including the interview with the wife of Max Manus. Amazing how she could recall what happened many many years ago.

4. Minority Report (US, 2002). I know many people like this kind of film. Unfortunately it takes a while for me to get a grip on something like this.

5. Percy Jackson and The Olympians – The Lightning Thief (US, 2010). The firts reason I decided to watch this film mainly because I wanted to watch another film starring Logan Lerman. Despite the bad review (which I read after having seen the film anyway) I bought the DVD so I can watch it over and over again. But still for this challenge I count it only once πŸ˜›

6. The Pirates (UK, 2011). Another animation from Aardman. If you like Wallace and Gromit (I do!), watch this too!

7. Leap year (US, 2010). Call me shallow to watch another predictable romantic comedy. Surprisingly, on imdb, many people put good review or at least loved it, why??? Is it solely because of that Irish setting or what? I made quite a long pause (days) after 60 minutes watching it to the next 40 minutes.

8. Atonement (UK, 2007). So very interesting! Some people might consider it pretty depressing. Unpredictable ending. Like!

9. Good-Bye, Lenin! (Germany, 2003). I watched it the first time at Goethe Institut Library in Jakarta. Forgot what the story was until this time. Hi, DDR! πŸ™‚

10. Buddy (Norway, 2003). Easy and feel-good Norwegian film, I would say. I might see that again, if not the whole, separate scenes will do good as well.

11. Gladiator (US/UK, 2000). Finally I watched so-called one of the greatest movies ever (where have I been?)

I borrowed Kill Bill 1 and 2 DVDs and tried to watch the first one, but only after I can’t remember how many minutes, I find it pretty violent so I stopped. Many said it is very good film, with great fights and so on and so forth, but still I don’t think that is a kind of film I would like to watch. Just for your information.

Alright, now I have watched 57 films so far, and still playing…

2 thoughts on “My April Film List – Still 100-Films-A-Year-Challenge

  1. Dari list diatas baru nonton no 1 sama no 5 >__<

    Sama, ga suka Eat, Pray, Love juga… Karakter utamanya agak annoying yaaa.. ribet banget cara pikirnya..

    Kalau no.5 karena tentang legenda yunani gitu jadi suka deh..

    • Eat, Pray, Love – kalau di filmnya sih kayaknya hidupnya yah gak ribet (gak tau aslinya di bukunya), kenapa dia jadi ribet sendiri ya? *bingung* Percy Jackson, gara2 si Logan aja awalnya, tapi jadi suka juga sih, itung2 tambah pengetahuan *mitologi Yunani* – jangan lupa nonton film lainnya yang bagus2 πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

