My March Film List – Before and After Kosmorama

One of the reasons I joined the film festival in town last March was that I could get the chance to see many films with film festival quality. For free, oh yeah! ๐Ÿ™‚

Whenever I start making the report of films I have watched the previous month, I always remember my Bits and Pieces of New Year Resolutions. If you happen to read that post (again), haven’t I told you that I finally decided to buy sleeping bag from the giftcard I got? Oh well, I just did (tell you, I bought it a while ago)! ๐Ÿ™‚

And I haven’t succeeded with the literature books yet, I have to say. Well, in February I read Kardemome By (Norwegian children book) and Ulovlig Norsk (a story of a Caucasian girl who moved to Norway and was illegal for many years).

Back to films. I will divide this into two parts, Before and After Kosmorama and During The Festival. It will take a while, just hang on to this!

1. Beauty and The Briefcase (US, 2010) – Oh yes, I started the month with this easy romantic comedy, which I liked, surprisingly. Yeah, why not? ๐Ÿ™‚

2. New York Stories (US, 1989) – Three short films in one DVD with 3 greatest American directors, Scorsese, Allen and Coppola. Not the sort of my favourite unfortunately, well the one from Allen was probably I liked the most.

3. The Grocer’s son/Le fils de l’รฉpicier (France, 2007) – Easy film to understand with good country view of France.

4. Grbvica (Bosnia/Croatia, 2006) – I liked this film, which shows how a woman has to deal with life after the war in the region. I read in one review that tells : “It’s moving and touching, but also very truthful to the post-war events”. I heard the Serbs claimed that this film was an Anti-Serb propaganda, which I think not true at all.

5. Miss Congeniality (US, 2000) – No need to comment, eh?

6. Meet Bill (US, 2007) – The film might not be my most favourite one, but this is when I spotted Logan Lerman the first time, see how correct I was, he was good, eh? (I wouldn’t say he’s so cute here, although I know he is, well, I just did, is it possible to avoid any distracting comments now?ahahaha… oh well ๐Ÿ™‚ I started googling him and sure, youtubeing as well, and here is one of the funniest video I could find. When he was at Busan International Film festival in South Korea. I hope you have a good laugh! ๐Ÿ™‚

7. Linas Kveldsbok (Sweden, 2007) – It’s a teenager film, that is why I was intrigued to borrow it ๐Ÿ™‚

8. Die Blechtrommel/The Tin Drum (German, 1979) – I had watched this when I was student (yeah, remember I was studying German literature, eh? Well, yeah ages ago… ). I tried once to read the book, written by Guenter Grass, I think he got the Nobel Prize for Literature for this book, but as you can guess, I wasn’t finished reading it (it was in German! :P). And the film itself, directed by Volker Schloendorff – got Oscar for best foreign film. I always remembered this film, because I like the idea of this little Oskar, who decides not to grow up as he sees how complicated adult life is (agree and bless you!). I used to like films with World War 2 (Nazi stuff), hmm not too sure about it now, well, sometimes. It depends, as long as it is not too violent.

I will continue with the films during Kosmorama. Wait for it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Snowyย  greeting! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “My March Film List – Before and After Kosmorama

  1. Well, i wish i could have the same chance to watch movie festivals for free. Damn, entertainment is still something luxurious in Melbourne. So will you write the review of every film you watch?

Leave a Reply

