Film Festivals: From Jiffest, TIFF, and soon Kosmorama!

I often wake up at odd times lately, due to my early sleeping, and whenever I feel that I have enough of sleep, I get up. I feel fine, that is the most important thing 🙂

Okay, back to title. I used to work as volunteer for Jakarta International Film Festival 6 times – after graduating from university in 2001, I found a paper on the wall of my campus, that the festival was looking for volunteers, who would like to dedicate their time for the festival. I was thinking, it could be me! Yeah, why not? That campus life behind me finally, and only having once a week Russian course at that time as the only activity (oh yeah, I took it for one semester only at the cultural centre and it was worth it, since a year later I could visit the country), after 5 years with German, so Jiffest, here I come! After that first time, whenever I was around in Jakarta, I volunteered for the festival – 5 others were in 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009. I was around in 2010, but was too late to text to the coordinator, perhaps my age was out of his range for volunteers anyway 😛

From 2009, briefing at 2 in the morning in the hotel room. Picture courtesy of Astrid

Yeah, I still remember alarm ringing without the person himself who set the alarm waking up, amazing 😛 Picture courtesy of Astrid.

It was a sad fact that they couldn’t hold the festival in 2011 due to financial problem. Hey, wake up everybody!

This is the best Jiffest trailer, in my opinion. The song is Sweet Disposition from Temper Trap (the vocalist is an Indonesian), as soundtrack of film 500 Days of Summer.

***

And this winter I got the opportunity to visit Tromsø International Film Festival (TIFF), which is the northernmost film festival in the world. Some pictures (my own) and videos related to the festival I found on youtube as follow.

The festival catalogue, handbook and newspaper

A bit of opening ceremony

Three of the tickets I bought

A short film of 2 film students visiting TIFF for the first time in 2004, and this film was viewed the year after at the opening of the festival.

***

And soon, Trondheim International Film Festival – Kosmorama, which will be held on 19-25 March, 2012.

***

I can’t wait to be part of it. But first, attending a friend’s wedding in the south would be a good deed 🙂

Leave a Reply

