Kaizers Oh Kaizers (1)

Have you heard about this Norwegian band? If not, check Kaizers on Wikipedia, for more information about the band.

But here I just want to share with you my story. Here the story goes.

One week after my graduation party in February 2002 (I actually finished my study already in 2001), I went to Norway (for the second time). That was where I knew Kaizers Orchestra for the first time. From the local newspapers, Adresseavisen, to be precise. I think they mentioned there that the band was from Bergen, the second largest town in Norway. My Norwegian penfriend who lived outside Stavanger said, they were from Stavanger. *Or Adressa wrote they were from Stavanger, and my penfriend said they were from Bergen. Yeah, something like that*

Well, I never got a chance to meet that penfriend, but I was still curious about Kaizers.

This is a video taken from Youtube, one of the songs from the first album named the same Ompa Til Du Dør.

I wasn’t so creative to find out about things back then. Now, I would read newspapers, browse the internet to google, ask around, and go places to indulge myself in things that interest me.

I remember I watched Kaizers once on TV performing Ompa Til Du Dør. And I asked the daughter of one of my coworkers, what Ompa means. She couldn’t explain it to me. I was just thinking, it doesn’t matter, it’s just a song 🙂

Other song titled Dr Mowinckel, still from the first album.

Anyway, I got the chance to help out in the juice company near where I live and worked with 2 German girls. From time to time we had some talk during the work and I didn’t want to miss out on a question: Have you heard of Kaizers Orchestra? Apparently they heard of it the first time from me 🙂 I also told the young coworkers in my working place. Being young they were, they liked the music.

It was in 2002 or early 2003 when I missed out on Kaizers’ concert in Trondheim. I can’t really recall the reason why I couldn’t come. Most likely because of no spare money, poor me… None of my friends couldn’t make it either. Fair enough. I was a bit disappointed though, wondering when I would ever get the chance to see them live. Luckily, not long time afterwards, I heard that they would have a concert again, in Trondheim!

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

