There Is A Will, There Is A Way

I am at my early 30s. Some people say I am old, some will say I am still young. I think all depends on how you see it. As far as I am concerned, my life has been colourful enough. I have seen and experienced many different kinds of things (still many things to go, though). However I feel that I still lack of something (if I can’t say many). I am not talking about relationship or stuff like that (there’s always time to talk about it with my goodie-goodie friends). It’s more about skills and more exciting things that could make myself feel: Wow, I’ve done it. You know what I mean? I even lost for vocabularies how to describe it best.

Hear about what some of my friends have done or able to do. One of my friends has travelled along the coasts of Norway from North to South with his bike at his early 20, then did another bike tour throughout New Zealand that was even sponsored by a bike company. Yet to mention that he likes fishing, photography, able to cook, able to do canoeing, played viola for 10 years when young – ah yeah, it’s many enough, no? And he is not even 30!

There are more friends, who are good at knitting, playing music instruments, speaking 2 foreign languages, snowboarding and baking cakes. And they are only bloody 20! Sorry for my language. I think I have the rights in this world to feel envious, don’t you think? (justification seeking). Do you think I am not a happy person now that I sound so sad and probably a little bit insecure? On the contrary, I am happy where and how I am now. I tryΒ  not to regret the last 32 years of my life. I may regret some part of it. A small part. I think our past has shaped us into the person we are now, don’t you agree?

I’d better use the envy as the tool to encourage myself to develop more skills and abilities in me.

I like writing. I might write books at some point in my life.

I like food. I might own a restaurant or cafe or both in the future.

I like BMW X5. It surely encourages me to learn to drive.

I like music. Playing some music instrument would be a cool idea.

As the story I told a friend a few days ago, about how bad I was at maths when I was at senior high school. When the marks range 1-10, where 10 is the top, I got 2. Blah. But for the final exam, I managed to get 8. So, there are some possibilities. It might have been because the level difficulties of my school differed from national standard. Or it could be that because I was to lazy to learn in the beginning, then I was more confident and learned more. If it was the second possibility, the keyword is that the willing to learn, and learn hard. Well, don’t ask me about chemistry. Okay, enough about my weakness.

Yesterday I learned something new. I learned how to row a boat. It may seem easy. In fact, it wasn’t. But I could do it. Yes, the boat was moving. Yes, into the direction I wanted it. I’ve got to learn more, though. Yes, I am still weak at keeping both oars at the same strengths. And hey! I am starting to grow some muscle now ahahaha…

Well, as the saying goes: There is a will, there is a way.

As the night is stillΒ  young, so am I πŸ™‚

I would like to thank everyone who read this writing, and I personally dedicate this writing to Matthias, Florian, Vera, Jakob, and Nicolas

16 thoughts on “There Is A Will, There Is A Way

  1. dear Nelda..
    As I read this post, it remind me exactly some 5 or 4 years ago, when I thought I’ve made something in my life by achieving things in my career that I’d worked out and dreamed of years and years before, and then suddenly surrounded by people that’s achieved a lot more in their younger age… :)) and thought how I wasted my time by learned almost nothing..and I so eager then to worked hard mastering things such as playing guitar, cooking, traveling.. and now.. my guitar hanged dusty in my room, I cook only with my standard of taste, travel once in while when I had to. But what I felt most precious things I’d learned and I regret that I learned it quiet late were learning two things, one was to develop a relationship with special one..:)) learn to know better a person next to us, learn to trust him with our feeling, learn to like differences among us, it’ still painful, but also exciting process for me, second is to develop relationship with our Maker, learn to get to know Him and what He want from us in life by many ways..such us reading Love Letter He left for us (Al Qur’an, in my believe) reading relevant literature and try to communicate as often as possible
    But as Paulo Coelho wrote in alchemist, everybody has his own personal legend..:)

    • Thanks for the response, Euis, and the sharing πŸ™‚ Basically, in my opinion, we just do something that we like and enjoy doing and we know that it would benefit us in good ways, just a simple example is to do something that makes us or/and others happy. As simple as that. It doesn’t matter where and how you do it, as long as you are happy and surrounded by happy people, that is a bless, don’t you agree? πŸ™‚

  2. Salam Kenal,
    Saya mengetahui blog ini dari naked-traveller. Pas saya buka dan baca tulisan pertama saya terkesan dengan tulisan itu. Saya juga merasakan hal yang sama, makanya sekarang dengan sisa waktu yang ada berusaha mewujudkan apa yang dulu dicita-citakan. belajar gitar, maen drum, kursus TOEFL biar bisa ke luar negeri, ikut brevet Pajak, semuanya terasa indah karena kita menginginkannya.

  3. Hi Nelda, I’m Intan. I bumped into your blog while searching about flight to Norway. Your blog is very inspiring, or I should say your English is excellent too! Indeed, you speak two languages fluently, and maybe you speak some more eh?
    This writing here is written from the heart, I could feel it too somehow. ^0^

    and by the way, I also once said that It’s nice to have something that we could look forward to, XD makes me think that many great things lie ahead..
    good job with the mittens, wish I could make them too someday.

    Are you happened to be in Oslo? Is it lovely there?

    • Hi Intan, glad that you like my blog. Are you coming to Oslo? Well, some part can be really lovely while other part not really, however I don’t think I am the best person to be asked about Oslo. But if you happen to come to this part of the world, just give me a wink πŸ˜‰ Now you also have something to look forward to πŸ™‚

  4. hihi, yup hopefully I will go there in early August this year.
    I will be studying at UiO. =)
    Do you live near Blindern?
    I’ll let you know if I have arrived in Oslo.
    Looking forward to seeing you there.. ^^

  5. Hi mbak Nelda, lama ga ngecek blog ini tautau sepertinya udah di negeri orang yaa. Wahh menyenangkan. Would love to read more about your journey!! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

