Privileged Crisis

Sebelum masuk ke cerita di London, ada satu artikel dari seorang teman, yang pantas untuk disimak. Dalam bahasa Inggris aja ya…:)

This writing was written by a Norwegian student named Erling Paulsen in 2003. I got to know him from ISFiT 2001, as he was the vice president of the festival. Well, actually he was aware that I was one participant when I was working in Norway and contacted him because I read this writing on the local newspaper.

I liked this writing very much.

Maybe it doesn’t tell you about my travel story, nor his. But it might give you a perspective how to live your life, which might effect your will of travel;) As usual, enjoy! And I put the original writing in Norwegian below, just in case you feel like seeing the Norwegian version ^_^

And yes, thanks to Erling, to give me permission to publish this on my blog:)

De priviligertes Krise(PRIVILEGED CRISIS)
By Erling Paulsen (translated by Nelda)

When you really want something, the entire universe conspires in helping you to achieve it. I can’t say that this is my own statement. The quotation is taken from novel “Alchemist” written by Paulo Coelho. The novel tells about a shepherd called Santiago, who is searching a big treasure who then finds out that there is no bigger treasure than the ability to listen to his heart, to follow his dreams and get the chances, which turn up.

I liked this book. The thought to live such way addressed me so much and after I have read that I thought that I have to strengthen to realize it in practice. I’m not alone about these thoughts. Many of my friends really agree with this. When someone says that he has a dream to travel around the world, we say: just do it! When someone says that he is offered an exciting job, we say: get the chance! When someone says that he’s got a girlfriend in a country far away, we say: just go on!

We really would like to become an ideal generation. We have big freedom compared to our parents or our grandparents. In early time everything should be done according to traditions and norms of the parents, family and economical limit in connection to which life you would live. Many people made choice in the contrary of what they actually wanted to because of expectation from others. It had been unhappy because they couldn’t live like they dreamed about. Today it is absolutely different. I’m not obliged to have the work as my father does. I’m not refused to get married to the girl I want just because my family is not good enough. Or with the guy I want because being a homo is not a disgrace anymore. I’m not obliged to live in the south because I have to help and take care the elder in my family. Instead of that I’m in fact free to follow my dreams and to grab the chances, which turn up.

In my case I don’t lack dreams. I’m dreaming of good and an exciting marriage with a fantastic wife and terrific children. I’m dreaming of having career in Norwegian and international business. I’m dreaming of long evening in the kitchen with good food, good wine and good friends. I’m dreaming to influence the society with my thoughts and ideas through political career. I’m dreaming of enjoying life on my own grape garden in Tuscany. I’m dreaming of being a football trainer for the small boys league on the place I live. All of these are really great dreams and my life was very uncomplicated until I understood that I’m not sure whether I could fulfill all of these dreams.

To be continued…

And here is the original version in Norwegian, just in case you are curious:)

De priviligertes krise

av Erling Paulsen

”Når du virkelig ønsker deg noe, vil hele universet arbeide for at ønsket ditt blir oppfylt”. Jeg kan ikke skryte på meg at dette er mine ord. Sitatet er hentet fra Paulo Coelhos roman Alkymisten. Romanen forteller historien om gjetergutten Santiago som i jakten på en stor skatt finner ut at ingen skatt er større enn evnen til å lytte til sitt hjerte, å følge sine drømmer og gripe de muligheter som dukker opp. Jeg likte denne boka. Tanken på å leve på den måten tiltaler meg veldig, og etter at jeg leste den har jeg tenkt at jeg må gå enda sterkere inn for å leve slik i praksis. Jeg er ikke alene om disse tankene.

For mange av mine venner er det i stor grad dette det dreier seg om. Når noen forteller at de har en drøm om å reise jorden rundt, sier vi: Reis! Når noen forteller at de har fått tilbud om en fantastisk spennende jobb, sier vi: Grip muligheten! Når noen forteller at de har fått seg kjæreste i et land langt borte, sier vi: Sats alt!

Det å gjøre det vi har lyst til er blitt min generasjons fremste ideal. I utgangspunket er det strålende. Vi har stor frihet sammenlignet med våre foreldre, og ser vi på våre besteforeldre blir forskjellen enorm. Tidligere utgjorde alt fra tradisjoner og normer til foreldre, familie og økonomi store begrensninger i forhold til hvilket liv du kunne leve. Mange mennesker gjorde valg som stred mot det de egentlig ville fordi det var forventet av andre. Det er ikke få som opp gjennom historien har vært ulykkelige fordi de ikke har fått leve det livet de innerst inne drømte om.

I dag er det helt annerledes. Jeg er ikke nødt til å jobbe med det samme som faren min jobber med. Jeg blir ikke nektet å gifte meg med den jenta jeg vil bare fordi familien min ikke er god nok. Eller med den gutten jeg vil fordi homofili er en utilgivelig synd. Jeg er ikke nødt til å bo på Sørlandet fordi jeg må hjelpe og pleie de eldste i min familie. Istedenfor er jeg faktisk fri til å følge mine drømmer og gripe de muligheter som dukker opp.

For min egen del mangler jeg ikke drømmer. Jeg drømmer om et godt og spennende ekteskap med ei fantastisk kone og flotte barn. Jeg drømmer om å gjøre karriere i norsk og internasjonalt næringsliv. Jeg drømmer om lange kvelder på kjøkkenet med god mat, god vin og gode venner. Jeg drømmer om å påvirke samfunnet med mine tanker og ideer gjennom en politisk karriere. Jeg drømmer om å nyte livet på min egen vingård i Toscana. Jeg drømmer om å være fotballtrener for småguttelaget på stedet der jeg bor. Alt dette er riktig så flotte drømmer, og livet mitt var veldig ukomplisert inntil jeg forstod at det slett ikke er sikkert at jeg kan få oppfylt alle disse drømmene.

Leave a Reply

